Catholic Award for Teachers

Established in 1998 with an anonymous gift to The Catholic Foundation, the Catholic Award for Teachers recognizes the accomplishments of outstanding teachers in our Catholic schools. Each year, three to five teachers are selected to receive awards of $1,000 each in appreciation for their teaching excellence. In addition, the schools they represent each receive $100 for their school endowment. The list below reflects the awardees for the past four years.

Award Winners

NameYear HonoredSchool
Giglio, Mary2017St. Therese Catholic School - ABQ
Rouse, Margaret2017Our Lady of the Annunciation Catholic School - ABQ
Miller, Erika2017Holy Ghost Catholic School - ABQ
Schulte, Mary Helen2017St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School- Rio Rancho
Davalos, Jane2017Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic School - ABQ
Lopez, Terry Ann2017Holy Cross Catholic School - Santa Cruz
Wheeldon, Pamela2016St. Charles Borromeo Catholic School - ABQ
Shropshire, Cynthia2016Our Lady of the Annunciation Catholic School
Rivera, Holly2016Holy Ghost Catholic School - ABQ
Sanchez, Heather2016St. Mary's Catholic School - Belen
Chavez, Melanie2016St. Mary's Catholic School - Belen
DeHaas, Paula2015Our Lady of Fatima Catholic School - ABQ
Walden, Abigail2015St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School -Rio Rancho
Pecos, Patricia2015Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic School - ABQ
Albonico, Nic2015Our Lady of the Annunciation Catholic School - ABQ
Valdez, Theodora2015Holy Cross Catholic School - ABQ
Padilla, Angela2015St. Mary's Catholic School - Belen
Romero, Carla D.2014St. Mary's Catholic School - ABQ
Martinez, Anna Maria2014St. Mary's Catholic School - ABQ
Jenkins, Fred2014Holy Ghost Catholic School - ABQ
Martinez, Margarita2014St. Therese Catholic School - ABQ
Sanchez, Dorothy (Susie)2013St. Pius X High School - ABQ
Holland, Mary Ann2013Holy Ghost Catholic School - ABQ
Baca, Charlene2013St. Mary's Catholic School - Belen
Ruiz, Colleen M.2013Our Lady of the Annunciation Catholic School - ABQ